PHOTOGRAPHER-OF-THE-DAY


_______________________________________________________


Jill Yelverton


I know so many talented photographers, I probably could share an outstanding image by someone different every day for a month! So that’s what I’m going to do. I hope you like this striking photo by Jill Yelverton:

 


_______________________________________________________


Mark Holm


Another of my talented photographer friends, Mark Holm, posted this wonderfully evocative image – which can be appreciated even by those of who never knew the subject of the photo, but who understand the lasting importance and dignity of the loved ones who have shaped our lives. (Thank you, Mark.)


From Mark Holm:
“This photo could have been made almost any day, six days a week. It could have been made Tuesday. On Wednesday, Howard passed away at age 89, after a life defined by his love of family, community, and work. Oh, and the Packers. Looking at this photo, he would be quick to point out that Cool City Cleaners is still open for business.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Mark Hirsch


Another talented photographer whose work I’ve shared before: Mark Hirsch, who’s behind the fascinating iPhone project, That Tree. (Also, like Mark Holm and myself, with ties to Dubuque, Iowa, and the Telegraph Herald.)

 

 

 

 


From Mark Hirsch:
“This was the photo I made on March 24, 2012 kicking off the project after my friend Greg Guenther sent me a message on Facebook that said, ‘Dude, what’s with you and That Tree, you should do a photo a day with it.’ The rest is history!”

 


_______________________________________________________


Eric Williams


Today’s photographer-of-the-day entry comes from my brother, Eric Williams. He has a real ability to see things that others are unlikely to notice, with his own photos and in found images.

 


_______________________________________________________


James Steele


I could fill my Facebook feed with cool photographs by James Steele!


From James Steele:
“In the ’70s and ’80s, outside of living in Europe, I lived on 5 Acres near Rum Island on the Santa Fe River, as mentioned in my last post … this small spring known as both Jonathan Spring and Boarshog Spring was my refuge when the heat got too much, or the electricity was out due to storms … sat many a day/evening in this spring chillin’ and decided to renew my License to Chill over 40 years later …”

 

From James Steele: “I never cease to be awed by Mother Nature …”

 

From James Steele: “This man was on Clearwater Bridge at sunset …”

 


_______________________________________________________


Linda Burhans


My photographer-of-the-day today is Linda Burhans of Seminole, Fla. – who greets her Facebook Friends daily by seeking out a new and different scene to photograph. Linda’s “Good morning Seminole!” photos always offer a welcome touch of natural beauty to start the new day!:

 

 

 

 

 


_______________________________________________________


Donna Strickland


My featured photographer-of-the-day today is my friend Donna Strickland, a real master at discovering the world’s beauty. (I don’t mean to minimize Donna’s skills with a camera, but I’ve found that the world’s beauty tends to tag along with her, as if hoping to pick up a few pointers.) This gorgeous, tender and visually tactile image is one of my favorite photo portraits.


From Donna Strickland:
“I was happy to find out my photo won First Place in the Sandwich Fair photo contest! The sweet young lady’s name is Kameron and her cow’s names are Ben & Jerry. — at The Sandwich Fair.”

 


_______________________________________________________


John Henley


Today, my featured photographer-of-the-day is John Henley (with whom I shared a great meal at Famous Dave’s Bar-B-Que yesterday – and who, a lifetime ago, shot the photos at my wedding!) Anyone who loves Florida’s beaches, especially at Sanibel Island and Captiva, will want to check out John’s ever-growing collection of amazing images from that area!


Sanibel Harbor Resort

 


_______________________________________________________


Vivian Maier


Photographer-of-the-day: if you’re not familiar with the recently discovered work of street photographer Vivian Maier, the Academy Award-nominated documentary “Finding Vivian Maier” is a good place to start.

 


_______________________________________________________


Anonymous


My photographer-of-the-day today is Anonymous. Some of my very favorite photos came from loose stacks of orphaned family snapshots, old postcards, photobooth strips, cheaply framed professional portraits and random pages torn from long-forgotten photo albums.

In this case, although the photographer may be unknown, the photo shows my father and a friend from his days as a young man in central Wisconsin. My aunts and uncles might be able to supply her name and other information about her, her family, her personal history. But, whether identifiable or not, for me she exists as a figure frozen in time and emulsion, loved or barely known, but at least important enough to momentarily attract the attention of someone with a camera.

 


_______________________________________________________


Janine Peliksza


Today, I’m sharing a photograph by Janine Peliksza – who captured this unexpected view of Orvieto, Italy. I always appreciate it when an image shows me something that’s in plain view, but largely unnoticed by everyone else!


Orvieto, Italy

 


_______________________________________________________


Jay Nolan


This photograph of a homeless girl holding her father’s hand, from my former Tampa Tribune colleague Jay Nolan, is a perfect example of the powerfully emotional world that visual journalists allow us to experience – directly, and often up-close – through a combination of many different factors: an ability to be truly present within the moment, an acute sense of connection, great patience, perspective, artistry, physicality and nerve.


From Jay Nolan:
“I’ll never forget this family.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Carlton Ward


Today I’m sharing the work of another Florida-based photographer, Carlton Ward. His nature photos often are stunningly dynamic – like this photo that he shot at the site of a controlled burn. Incredible!


From Carlton Ward Photography:
“Smoke billows through pines during a controlled burn at Tall Timbers Research Station & Land Conservancy in the Red Hills of northern Florida. Here and throughout the southeastern US, prescribed and natural fires are essential for maintaining healthy forest ecosystems.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Clyde Butcher


The next Florida photographer whose work I wanted to share is Clyde Butcher. His nature photography is among the best you’ll find. I’ve always been drawn to black-and-white photographs, and this image perfectly captures a few of the reasons: it minimizes distractions and allows us to see the image as an artistic whole; it creates a sense of reality that’s divorced from everyday life, since we can’t tell whether these clouds were photographed in 1880 or last Thursday; it adds an undefinable sense of majesty and mystery, connecting all black-and-white photographs in a strangely timeless continuum.


From Clyde Butcher: Matlacha Pass, Charlotte Harbor, Florida —
“This photographic experience was one of the most comfortable I ever had. Niki and I saw the cloud formation forming over the still waters of Charlotte Harbor. We pulled our pontoon boat up onto a sandbank, and while I climbed out of the boat to set up the camera, Niki made breakfast. I’d take a shot of the cloud, and then, while waiting for it to change shape, I’d have a pancake, then take another shot, followed by a pancake…and so on….”

 


_______________________________________________________


Colin Hackley


Today’s photographer-of-the-day is Colin Hackley – another talented former colleague from my days at The Tampa Tribune. This was one of Colin’s most memorable images from his days with the Trib – what a great shot!! (And, since I’m not a sports fan, you can trust that I connected with it for purely aesthetic reasons! Haha.) You can see more of Colin’s professional work here: http://colinhackley.photoshelter.com/

 


_______________________________________________________


Todd L. Chappel


My photographer-of-the-day image comes from Todd L. Chappel today. Todd is a longtime news photographer and photo editor, and a former co-worker at The Tampa Tribune. Even though I’ve never been out on the water with Todd, this simple and straightforward image perfectly captures who Todd is – especially in connection with his many family photos. A great reminder of the personal, intimate and emotionally powerful side of photography! (Hope you’re doing well, Todd!)

 


_______________________________________________________


Rebecca Sexton Larson


Today, I’m sharing the work of photographers Rebecca Sexton Larson and Matt Larson, the creative explorers behind the traveling Boxfotos Airstream project and many other feats of visual alchemy. (I don’t know the story behind this hauntingly timeless image by Rebecca – but maybe that’s the point; Maybe the image IS the story.) http://bitly.com/Boxfotos


Drifting, 2014 Original bromoil photograph 10 x 10 inches Unique edition of 5.

 


_______________________________________________________


Matt Larson


Today, I’m sharing the work of photographers Matt Larson and Rebecca Sexton Larson, the creative explorers behind the traveling Boxfotos Airstream project and many other feats of visual alchemy. (I was familiar with Matt’s terrific images of bare trees and unusual landscapes using pinhole cameras, toy cameras, the salt print technique, etc. – but this image really stopped me this morning.) http://bitly.com/Boxfotos


Clown in Window, AZ — at Los Olivos Mexican Patio.

 


_______________________________________________________


Joseph Brown


Photograph of the day: Today I’m featuring this strong self-portrait by photographer, videographer, family man, friend and former neighbor Joseph Brown. (Michael Jordan, take note!)


From Joseph Brown:
“And no it’s not Michael Jordan from the Nike ads. A work in progress but I’m trying.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Greg Schaub


I guess I’m just a sucker for photos of stunning skyscapes! Today, I’m sharing an “oh wow” image from my friend since Kindergarten, Greg Schaub – probably the first person I ever knew who had a serious interest in photography. (Other than my Dad!)


From Greg Schaub:
“The skies over La Crosse this evening.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Cal Gaines


I really like this conceptual image by photographer Cal Gaines – feels like we’re on the set of some futuristic thriller, like “Blade Runner 2” or “Mission: Impossible 17.”


From Cal Gaines:
“People who make extraordinary from the very ordinary — you see such beauty — not because it’s manufactured, but because they see it and nobody else does. Which in turn makes each of us unique as we view things differently.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Cliff McBride


Photographer Cliff McBride, a fellow Tampa Tribune staffer for many years, captured this terrific image on the Hillsborough River. (His action shots of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers were always pretty great, too!)


From Cliff McBride:
“Spent some time on the Hillsborough River early this morning for an upcoming story about the Tampa Water Dept. in the Tribune. Heaven on earth!”

 


_______________________________________________________


Anya Garrett


My “photographer of the day” this morning, Anya Garrett, was another amazing contributor to the “365 Days” project – producing a new and arresting self-portrait every day for a full year. Sometimes funny, sometimes touching, and almost always eye-catchingly direct, Anya’s self-portraits were an ongoing lesson in focused creativity.


Also: If you saw the movie “Juno,” you might want to check YouTube for Anya’s star turn in the short film “Jewno,” which also featured J.K. Simmons (2015 Best Supporting Actor for “Whiplash”) parodying his role as Juno’s father in the original film.

 


_______________________________________________________


Selina Roman


Today, I’m sharing Selina Roman’s perfectly Floridian photograph from Little Havana — aptly described in a comment by Danny Olda as “Like a FL version of the Painted Ladies” from San Francisco.


Circa 2010 — in Miami, Florida.

 

 

 


_______________________________________________________


Katherine Gibson


One of my favorite Florida photographs from the uniquely visually-attuned eye of Katherine Gibson!

 


_______________________________________________________


Fred Bellet


I was stopped by the power and intimacy of this portrait by photographer and former colleague at The Tampa Tribune, Fred Bellet. (Maybe Fred will stop by to provide more context; or maybe the words “Pearl Harbor” on the gentleman’s cap provide all the context we need.)


From Fred Bellet:
“I felt his pain … I ALMOST put the camera down out of respect … But this was a once in a lifetime shot.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Rossie Newson


I’ve posted many photographs by my friend Rossie Newson – and I always enjoy seeing one of his new images show up here on Facebook, whether it’s a fashion shot, a sunrise, a brilliant flower, a closeup of a frog, a dignified portrait from the streets of St. Pete, or a dessert shared with friends. Or these two girls (whose expressions will brighten any day!)


From Rossie Newson:
“Who doesn’t love little kids giggling!”

 


_______________________________________________________


Jeremy Williams


Here’s a cool photo from my son, Jeremy Williams, that challenges our perceptions of traditional landscapes!

 


_______________________________________________________


Jock Fistick


The photographer whose work I’m sharing today, Jock Fistick, used to work at The Tampa Tribune with me, years ago. I can’t forget the hundreds (probably thousands, really) of stunning images that Jock and his fellow Trib photog, John Stanmyer, would bring bank from their various world travels! This strong image is a good example of Jock’s tremendous work.


From Jock Fistick:
“Day 3 in the Black & White Five Day Photography Challenge: In honor of President Obama’s announcement to normalize diplomatic relations with Cuba — I chose an image I made during Pope John Paul II’s historic visit to Cuba — which shows Ernesto Fidel Orozco, praying for, in his words, “the unity of Christ’s people” at a church in Havana, Cuba, on Friday, Jan. 23, 1998.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Stephen Poff


The photographer whose work I’m sharing today, Jock Fistick, used to work at The Tampa Tribune with me, years ago. I can’t forget the hundreds (probably thousands, really) of stunning images that Jock and his fellow Trib photog, John Stanmyer, would bring bank from their various world travels! This strong image is a good example of Jock’s tremendous work.


From Stephen Poff:
“When Zoe got old enough where we could travel well, we decided to take a weekend vacation to Pensacola. Clarissa and I needed some time to ourselves and went out to a private stretch of beach to look for seashells. When I saw that the sun was just about to duck behind the ocean, I quickly pulled some gear together and asked her to give me a couple of quick shots. This is one of my favorite all time photos of her. — with Clarissa Poff”

 


Another really memorable family photo by Stephen Poff – simple, elegant and incredibly heartfelt.


From Stephen Poff:
“I’m sure I’m not the first to wonder how all that baby can fit into such a small space. I knew before Zoe was born that I wanted to do this photo. We fed her, got her all sleepy and then folded her back up into a little ball for a few short moments. Look how tiny she looks! — with Tammi Poff”

 


_______________________________________________________


Kathleen Kilgore


Can you believe this gorgeous photo, by Kathleen Kilgore, showing a sunrise on Tampa’s Bayshore Boulevard? Although I’ve walked along that length of sidewalk many, many times, I’ve rarely seen a sunrise there. That will change …


From Kathleen Kilgore:
“Celebrating today — A new day is dawning. How will you make the most of it?”

 


_______________________________________________________


C. Bennette Moore Studio


One of my absolute favorite unexplained photos EVER (and that’s saying something, believe me!) is this undated photograph from the C. Bennette Moore Studio in New Orleans, La. I discovered this odd frozen moment in a great book of unexplained studio photographs, “The Champion Pig: Great Moments in Everyday Life” (1980), which was curated by Barbara P. Norfleet and collected from negative files in fifteen professional studios throughout the U.S.

 


_______________________________________________________


Mark Hogancamp


Today, I’m posting a photograph by Mark Hogancamp, the subject of the fascinating documentary “Marwencol.” I didn’t know much about the movie before I watched it, and I’m glad I didn’t! It’s an amazing profile, showing how creative passions can help transform a life. And the story has some twists and turns that I wouldn’t want to spoil for anyone who might seek out the film. It features hundreds of Hogancamp’s other photographs, nearly all of which were shot in the World War II-era town of Marwencol, Belgium – which Hogancamp created in his backyard.

 


_______________________________________________________


My camera phone


Sharing a photo of my own today – just a small, quiet moment before a memorable Sunday morning mountain-biking adventure.

 


_______________________________________________________


Brandon Stanton


Lots of people know about Brandon Stanton’s “Humans of New York” street portraiture by now, but here’s a reminder: He started off with a plan to create a photographic census of New York City, which turned into an ongoing project featuring anonymous street portraits and snippets of conversation with the people he’s met along the way. Often, the results are amazingly vibrant; Always, they emphasize our common humanity.

“I want to be a ballerina.”

“What’s the best part about being a ballerina?”

“Dancing.”

“What’s the hardest part about being a ballerina?”

“Dancing in front of people.”

 


_______________________________________________________


More Photographer-of-the-Day images in the following post, HERE.

Leave a Reply

