PHOTOGRAPHER-OF-THE-DAY, PART 2


_______________________________________________________


Peter Lik


I’ve been sharing the work of photographers whose images are inspiring or especially captivating to me, or to a friend. Today’s gorgeous photo is by Peter Lik, a landscape and cityscape photographer whose talents were brought to my attention by my longtime friend Greg Schaub.

I especially connected with the beauty of this old tree – unconsciously, at first – as a reminder of the traditional “family tree.” And I’m sending it out to my aunt Beulah Dickson, her sons David, Steve and Brian, and all the other family members who will be gathering later today to say goodbye to my uncle Arnold Dickson.


From Peter Lik:
“Standing beneath the canopy of this Japanese Maple tree was an incredible feeling – I was in awe as the late afternoon light backlit the delicate leaves. Every branch told its own story, and I felt this special tree had so much to tell. I truly felt an indescribable energy – a total connection with Mother Earth. I used a really wide-angle lens to reach out to as much of the tree as possible. I put my camera on the ground to give me a strong perspective to shoot up into the skies. As the sun sunk toward the horizon, the tree came to life with an incredible display of color, shape and texture – its rays burst into a star within the tree. It was a magical moment when I pressed the shutter – one I’ll never forget. I hope I can bring to you the rush of emotions I experienced. Enjoy.”

 


_______________________________________________________


Mickey Welsh


Today, I’m sharing a very cool image from photographer Mickey Welsh. Stephen Poff told me about his work:

“He’s a photographer at our Montgomery Advertiser and he makes an effort to get something fun or interesting each day that isn’t part of his regular assignment.”

A local guy who inspires him. Thanks for giving me a heads-up, Stephen!

 


_______________________________________________________


Joe Konz


I enjoy the fine details in this deceptively simple image by Joe Konz Photography – a scene that really comes alive for me because of the built-in contrasts: the stark comparison of light vs. dark; the sharpness of the foreground image paired with the soft, misty feel of the background; and even the slight differences in the “body language” of the two geese.

 


_______________________________________________________


Rossie Newson


Tremendous sunrise photo from my friend Rossie today!

 


_______________________________________________________


Saul Leiter


For my next photographer-of-the-day post, I’m featuring this image by Saul Leiter – recommended and described by my friend Michael Martin:


About Saul Leiter:
“There are a few photographs that have become so deeply etched into my life and consciousness that I think about them in much the same way as a master painting. Saul Leiter’s ‘Snow’ (from 1960) is one of them.

The work, like many of Leiter’s best New York-based street photographs, is a shot taken through a fogged up window onto a rainy street. Here the figure of the deliveryman, the yellow truck, and best of all the abstract, grungy window lettering combine to form an incredible painterly image. Leiter was schooled as a painter, and his incredible color work from the 1940’s through the 1960’s could just as easily be paintings rather than photos.

I have a small print of this photo in my kitchen, and I admire it every day. It’s hard for me to believe at times that it is from 65 years ago. Leiter died in 2013, and has only recently received the attention he deserved as a master photographer.”

(Thank you, Michael! A terrific and unique image!)

 


_______________________________________________________


Griffith H. Williams


My photographer-of-the-day today is my father, Griffith Williams.

My brothers and I (and our many cousins) grew up in the unbelievably hot glare of Dad’s 8mm movie-camera lights. He never attended a family gathering or hometown parade without bringing a camera or two. That also held true for vacations, floods, fires, train wrecks and colorful fall leaves. He must have amassed thousands of color slides and prints, in addition to a big collection of quick-cut home movies.

The results weren’t always high-quality. And he never seemed to be able to discard even the darkest, blurriest, streakiest, double-exposed mystery images.

But some of his photos were simply terrific. I especially love Dad’s black-and-white family snapshots, including this sublime image of my Mom and me.

 


_______________________________________________________


Hanne Cathrin Olsen


Today’s featured photographer is Hanne Cathrin Olsen, whose terrific panoramic images of Bergen, Norway, were compiled in a great photo book that was given to me by Norwegian journalist Walter Jensen. (Thank you, Walter!)

 

 

 

 

 


_______________________________________________________


John Stanmeyer


Another former colleague from The Tampa Tribune, John Stanmeyer, is my featured photographer-of-the-day this morning. (Thank you to Colin Hackley for sending me in search of some of John’s recent work!)

I rarely, if ever, worked directly with John. His most memorable photo projects for the newspaper resulted from his travels to the far reaches of the globe, often in the company of another talented Trib photographer, Jock Fistick. John and Jock would roll back into town with thousands of compelling images, which they normally would entrust to designer Terry Chapman, whose keen editing skills and visual focus made every project sing.

This stunningly gorgeous photograph of John’s, from South Sudan, is a perfect reminder of the many hundreds of similarly powerful photographs that he and Jock would spread across the Design Dept.’s light table: A massive jumble of world-class images, impossible to forget.


From John Stanmeyer:
“Mother with her child who arrived to the hospital testing positive for kala azar — MSF Hospital, South Sudan”

 


_______________________________________________________


Ken Donaldson


My featured photographer-of-the-day, Ken Donaldson, was recommended by Linda Burhans. Among the many terrific nature photos on his page, this image stood out for its sheer calmness AND for the subtle interplay of the dazzling colors. Awesome!

 


_______________________________________________________


Dear Photograph


Taylor Jones’ photo project “Dear Photograph” has been around for a few years, but it’s still one of my favorites.

Participants hold an old photo in front of the setting as it looks today, to be rephotographed. Often, the resulting composite images are poignant, sometimes uplifting, and always engaging.

Here’s a good example of a representative submission:

Dear Photograph,

This is me in the far 1962. I was in Piazza dei Signori (Lord’s Square) in Verona, Italy. I was giving corn seeds to the pigeons. Now it’s forbidden…

Annalisa

 


_______________________________________________________


My Dear Photograph contributions


Several of my own submissions have been included in the “Dear Photograph” project. I’ll repost them here, for anyone who hasn’t seen them:

Dear Photograph,

For one brief moment, this murky little duck pond became the most beautiful place on Earth.

Greg

 

Dear Photograph,

I always knew Grandpa’s jacket would be hard to fill.

Greg

 


_______________________________________________________


Stacey Kammerer


As part of my series of shared photos, Florida-based photographer John Henley has recommended the images of California-based photographer Stacey Kammerer, shown here.

 

 


_______________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

